IFFOR announces new Chairman

The International Foundation for Online Responsibility (IFFOR), the non-profit organization tasked with policy making for the new dot-xxx Internet extension, has a new Chairman. Internet governance expert, former Chairman of the Canadian Internet Registry Authority (CIRA), and entrepreneur Clyde Beattie takes over from CEO of dot-xxx registry owner ICM Registry, Stuart Lawley.

Lawley took the decision to step down from the role prior to the inaugural meeting of IFFOR’s Policy Council, the body that will make recommendations to IFFOR’s Board on policies for dot-xxx domain names.

“IFFOR is specifically structured to ensure separation from ICM Registry,” Lawley noted. “But with my name front of house for both organizations, I felt it appeared to many there wasn’t enough of a clear separation between the two. On top of that, it has become clear through the recent success of the dot-xxx sunrise period that I would be hard-pushed to give both organizations my fullest attention.”

Existing IFFOR Board member Clyde Beattie was selected as the new Chairman following Lawley’s decision, joining existing Board member Sebastien Bachollet. ICM Registry’s seat on the Board has been filled by its General Counsel, Sheri Falco. Beattie said of his appointment: “I’m delighted to be in a position to lead IFFOR. It is going to be a major global contributor to the protection of children online, Internet safety and the support of free expression. While we are losing an extremely talented and forward-thinking innovator in Stuart, with the quality of people we have on both the Board and the Policy Council, IFFOR will go from strength to strength.”

IFFOR Board Members Chair Clyde Beattie is CEO of Yorkland Investment Corp. Sebastien Bachollet is CEO of BBS Consulting and a member of the Board of Directors of ICANN.

Sheri Falco is General Counsel of ICM Registry, manager of the dot-xxx registry. Beattie’s experience includes serving as Chairman of the Canadian Internet Registry Authority (CIRA), where he was responsible for the dot-ca top level domain, as well as serving as a director of the Canadian Association of Internet Providers (CAIP). Bachollet’s expertise also stems from a technological background, having launched the www.sncf.fr website and built CIGREF (Club Informatique des Grandes Entreprises Françaises). Falco is a corporate and intellectual property attorney for Internet and digital media clients, with wide experience in business development, website production and entrepreneurship. She is a specialist in Internet law and consumer protection issues.

IFFOR Policy Council Members The IFFOR Board is supported by its Policy Council, comprising five members of the adult entertainment industry and one representative for free expression, privacy and security, child protection, and ICM Registry.

Jerry Barnett, Managing Director of Strictly Broadband and chairman of the UK’s Adult Industry Trade Association. He has over 25 years as a specialist in software development, databases and servers, including for the London Stock Exchange.

Chad Belville, Board Member of the Arizona Civil Liberties Union, Vice Chair of the Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Committee of the Arizona State Bar. He is admitted to the Supreme Courts of Iowa and Arizona and to the United States Supreme Court.

Fred Cate, distinguished Professor of Law at the Indiana University School of Law-Bloomington and director of the Indiana University Center for Applied Cybersecurity Research. He specializes in privacy and security, and served as counsel to the Department of Defense Technology and Privacy Advisory Committee, and was a member of the Federal Trade Commission’s Advisory Committee on Online Access and Security.

Bob Corn-Revere, partner at Davis Wright Tremaine LLP in Washington DC, specializing in First Amendment, Internet and communications law. He has served as counsel in First Amendment litigation involving the Communications Decency Act and the Child Online Protection Act.

Sharon Girling, child protection authority with over 30 years’ experience advising both the British Prime Minister and the President of the United States. In 2004, she was awarded the Officer of the British Empire by Her Majesty the Queen in recognition of her work as a special investigator.

Trieu Hoang is Vice President of Business Development and General Counsel at AbbyWinters, a leading entertainment site in the Netherlands. Trieu has considerable technical expertise having led research into enterprise search engines, wireless smart sensors and augmented reality.

Andrew Kayton is general counsel for ISP WebPower. The company’s flagship subscription service, iFriends, has more than nine million members in 146 countries. He also served as the American Civil Liberty Union’s legal director in Florida, where he litigated a number of high-profile First Amendment matters.

Florian Sitta is the Head of the legal department of Beate Uhse, Germany. He is responsible for corporate law, corporate governance and compliance. He is a Commissioner for the Protection of Youth.

Nadine Strossen, Professor of Law at New York Law School. She has written, lectured, and practiced extensively in the areas of constitutional law, civil liberties, and international human rights. From 1991 through 2008 she served as president of the American Civil Liberties Union.